

and Recreation SPC 22nd May 2023 Item No. 12

MINUTES OF THE COMMEMMORATIONS & NAMING COMMITTEE MEETING

HELD, THURSDAY 26TH JANUARY 2023

Members:

Cllr Mícheál Mac Donncha (Chairperson)

Cllr Mary Callaghan

Cllr Cieran Perry

Cllr Mannix Flynn

Cllr Paddy McCartan

Cllr Cat O'Driscoll

Cllr Nial Ring

Cllr Seamus McGrattan

Cllr Donna Cooney

Cllr Vincent Jackson

Apologies:

Julian de Spáinn

Officials present:

Brendan Teeling, Deputy City Librarian Fanchea Gibson – Administrative Officer Paula Ebbs. Senior Staff Officer

Ruairi O Cuív – Public Art Manager

Denice Kirwan - Minutes

Others present:

1. Minutes of meeting of December 1st, 2022

Action: Agreed

2. Matters arising

a. Margaret Keogh Walk

Action: BT to determine renaming process as this area is already called Accommodation Walk.

b. Christopher Whelan headstone

Action: Community grant/Area Discretionary fund may be the best option for this proposal as there has been no previous payments of a similar nature.

c. Commemorating Noel Browne

Action: Chairperson will arrange a meeting of the sub-committee before the next CNC meeting.

3. Correspondence

Proposal to rename Grattan Bridge to Markievicz Bridge

Action: Committee was not in favour of this proposal. The proposer should be informed of the Monument to the Women of the Revolutionary Decade.

• Manor St Group request for funding to commemorate 15 members of 4 local families involved in the War of Independence:

Action: Agreed in principle. Amount of funding to be agreed to support booklet, re-enactment etc. Cllr. Ring will liaise with the local group

4. Herbert Simms 125th anniversary: Motion adopted by the SEAC on 9th January 2023:

Given it will be the 125th anniversary of the birth of Herbert Simms in November 2023 can we arrange that a fitting tribute is designed and erected to celebrate his contribution to housing in Dublin. Can we look at an area like Crumlin, with very little public art statues or commemorations as it was an area completely designed and influenced by Simms architecture.

Action: Agreed. Suggestions to be submitted to BT. Planning & Housing SPC members should also be informed and invited to submit suggestions.

5. Dublin Monaghan Bombings film proposal

Action: An amount of €600 was agreed to support this project.

6. New applications for Plaques/Monuments/Memorials/Infrastructure

a. Thomas Wrigley Grimshaw (formal application)

Action: Agreed. Criteria has been met.

b. Marlborough House, Glasnevin (deferred from previous meeting)

Action: Cllr Flynn will try to locate a copy of the motion he previously submitted to the City Council in advance of the next meeting.

7. Plaques/Monuments/Memorials/Infrastructure Updates

Action: Report noted. Owner of building to be confirmed for proposed plaque for Jerome O'Leary in Blessington St. Formal proposal to be submitted for mural to commemorate Micheal O'Hehir of the GAA.

8. Report on the Monument to the Women of the Revolutionary Decade, Ruairí O' Cuív, Public Art Manager

Action: Noted and agreed. Report will be presented to the next SPC meeting on 27/2.

9. Report on proposed changes to the Plaque Scheme, Brendan Teeling, Deputy City Librarian

Report was discussed. Gender quota may be required. Average cost of plaque will be confirmed for the next meeting. Further promotion of plaquesofdublin.ie is required. Staff should proceed to clear backlog.

Action: This item should be included on the agenda of the next meeting for further discussion.

10. Commemorations Programme – oral update

Action: Noted.4 Historians in Residence contracts are currently being finalised. Administrative support will also be provided in 2023.

11. Commemoration of Kay Mills (standing item)

Action: To remain on agenda.

12. A.O.B.

- Boland's Mill: Plaque was temporarily removed and will be relocated on the renovated building.
- Artane Industrial School: Wording of commemoration to be clarified.
- Funding for Tom Clarke Shop: No proposal received. Housing could be dealing with this matter.

Date of next meeting: Thursday 23rd March 2023 @2.30pm

CIIr Micheál Mac Donncha, Chairperson